Sirsasana song

I mentioned in the 2/20/11 Core Session post that I wrote and performed a song as part of a presentation on sirsasana, or headstand pose.  Here are the lyrics for anyone who is interested.  (You provide your own music.)  :)

Sirsasana
(Original lyrics written by Stef; tune borrowed from Prince.)

Oh sirsasana please don’t let me fall.
Maybe I should use the support of the wall,
Or a partner, or a trustworthy friend –
I just don’t want to end up on my rear end.
I’m a fragile girl, and I’m afraid I’ll hurl, or that my neck will curl,
and then my mind just swirls….
Sirsasana, I don’t wanna fall.

But wait – what can we learn from our yoga study?
In another 30 seconds you’re about to see
How to make some sense of this crazy pose,
And not land on your butt or gut or on your nose.
It takes a little balance and some patience too,
With willingness and courage this pose you can do,
Sirsasana, let’s learn how it’s done.

The “secret” to this pose is energy in your arms.
Strength in your hands and elbows keeps your head from harm.
Once you’ve got a base that is really secure,
Inhale, lift your shoulders, resist gravity’s lure –
Then exhale, lift your feet right up to the sky
Smile, relax, breathe deeply, kiss your fear goodbye!
Sirsasana, that is how it’s done.

When you are through and ready to come down,
Don’t just crumble like some drunken clown.
It’s important to leave the pose with some self control,
Physical safety is a very good goal.
Exhale, lower your legs, place your feet on the floor,
Rest in child’s pose ‘till you’re ready for more…
Sirsasana, I had so much fun!

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Core Session, yoga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sirsasana song

  1. Pingback: Burnout? | Yoga Yearbook

  2. John Aughey says:

    Once again, I challenge you to post your performance on YouTube. I still hear in my head, “go Yogis. Go yogis. Go! go! go yogis.” I’m reminded of the time we had to write a song in 12 grade ap English class on a Greek mythology character. Mine was persephone.

    • Stef says:

      John, you will notice in this post that I only said “written by”, not “performed by”. You caught me on a technicality last time; I wasn’t going to make the same mistake twice. ;) For this one, you can click on the “tune” link, and sing the melody yourself using the lyrics provided; that will give you a sense of how the song went “live”.

      I’m not about to sing terribly on You Tube. “Rap”, sure. Sing – um, no.

      :)

  3. John Aughey says:

    Not so fast. In your burned out post you say that you sung it in class. You buried that fact deep in a long post, hoping we wouldn’t see this subtle detail. But alas, I had plenty of time Sunday morning. Had it been a Wednesday it would have slipped past me.

    • Stef says:

      To be clear: Yes, I did perform the song in class, because I had to. At the time I sang it to my classmates, though, I set out the disclaimer that this was a one-time, live performance, not to be recorded or repeated. Alas, I have misrepresented nor misstated nothing.

      I learn from my past, kind sir. :)

Leave a Reply

