Shifting from learner to leader

Today’s core yoga session was about “sequencing” – specifically, how to put yoga asanas (poses) in a logical order to create an entire yoga class. We have examined and discussed all of the asanas we are going to learn in this teacher training program; we have practiced and studied them as much as we are going to. Now it’s time to transition from student to teacher, from receiver to giver, and begin creating a yoga class.

Gulp. I’m nervous.

And I think I’m nervous mostly because I don’t feel like I really know what I’m doing.
So far the yoga training has given me some nice yoga theory, and some information about specific poses, and I’ve had a little bit of hands-on time messing around with my peers…. but up to this point, no one has yet really taught me how to pull everything together into a cohesive experience.

However, today that changed. Today, the instructor did provide a basic (basic) outline for how to structure a good yoga class – and that’s enough to get me started. I’m quite autonomous, and very intrinsically motivated; all I need is to be pointed in the general right direction of where I should head, and I can take it from there. Yes, more guidance can be helpful – but not required. I’m smart enough, and driven enough, and persistent enough, (and honestly, stubborn enough), that if I am given the basic information,
the bare-bones required data, I can use that as my framework – and then I can (will) figure out the rest of the details out on my own. Don’t get me wrong – the more information I have, the better; and I’m grateful and appreciative of any and all help I can get on the front end; but if push comes to shove, and I have to figure it out, sink or swim, I’m gonna figure it out. I’m gonna swim.

It just might be somewhat ugly. Or painful. Probably both.

Thankfully, today I was given the basic (basic) information I need to get started in a positive way. The teacher did spend a lot of time helping us think through how to structure a beginner class, and gave us great guidelines to follow for that specific student population. She offered insights into what she does in her beginner classes (and why she does what she does), as well as provided suggestions to us that we might want to “strongly consider” as we begin creating our classes.

Which, starts today. Between this evening and our next class (two weeks from now), we are each required to create a 75-minute class experience – complete with centering, meditation, warm-up, a full series of asanas, cool down, and a closing savasana. At our next group session, we will each teach a section of the class we designed to our peers.

So, it’s official: We are getting kicked out of the nest. We are being ask to (required to) step up, and begin to fend for ourselves. Mama bird ain’t gonna feed us any more; we have to learn how to find our own worms. We have to learn how to fly – or else smack into the ground.

Game on.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Core Session and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shifting from learner to leader

  1. Pingback: Student Teaching 101 | Yoga Yearbook

Leave a Reply

